How Do I Completely Wipe My IPhone?

  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

With your phone backed up and all of your accounts removed, factory reset it by opening the Settings app. Then tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings and confirm your decision. You’ll be asked to enter your phone’s PIN code, followed by your Apple ID password to turn off Apple’s Find My service.

What happens when you completely reset your iPhone?

Reset All Settings: All settings—including network settings, the keyboard dictionary, the Home Screen layout, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards—are removed or reset to their defaults. No data or media are deleted. … Cellular data roaming may also be turned off.

Does resetting iPhone delete Apple ID?

This will remove your iCloud account and disable Apple’s activation lock. … As long as you know your Apple ID and password you can recover your data after the factory reset.

How do I factory reset my iPhone without password or iTunes?

Solution 2. Factory Reset iPhone without Passcode or iTunes via iCloud

  1. Visit iCloud.com on your computer.
  2. Log in with the same Apple ID used on your locked iPhone.
  3. From the main page of icloud.com, choose “Settings.”
  4. Choose “Restore.”
  5. Choose the latest backup you made and click “Restore.”
  6. Open iCloud.com from a browser.

How do you hard reboot an iPhone?

Press and quickly release the volume up button, press and quickly release the volume down button, then press and hold the side button. When the Apple logo appears, release the button.

How do I wipe my iPhone clean and start over?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Now tap on General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Choose Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap on Erase Now.
  6. Enter your Passcode.

Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?

Answer: A: Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on.

Can you factory reset an iPhone without a computer?

The Bottom Line. As you can see, there is no direct way to do a factory reset on the iPhone without a computer. If there is no computer available, you can just erase all content from the device.

How do I wipe my iPhone without iCloud?

Go to “Settings” on your iPhone > “General” > Scroll down and choose “Reset”. Step 2. Choose “Erase All Content and Settings” > Enter your passcode if it is prompted, tap on “Erase iPhone” to confirm.

How do I factory reset my iPhone 12?

How to Hard Reset iPhone 12

  1. Press the Volume Up button and release it.
  2. Press the Volume Down button and release it.
  3. Press and hold the Side button (ignore the slide to power off slider). When the Apple logo appears, let go of the Side button. Wait for the iPhone 12 to restart.

How do you reset a locked iPhone 12?

hard reset iPhone 12

To hard reset an iPhone 12, press and quickly release the Volume Up button, and the same action with Volume Down button. Then hold down the Side button until you see the Apple logo screen. As with the way normal restart does, force-restarting your iPhone 12 doesn’t erase any data.

Is Hard Reset bad for iPhone?

A reset, as Apple calls it (hard restart as you call it), will not harm your iPhone at all. It’s the equivalent of rebooting your computer.

Does hard reset delete everything iPhone?

Factory reset or hard reset deletes complete data and settings from your iPhone. All your photos, videos, contacts, call logs, passwords, messages, browsing history, calendar, chat history, notes, installed apps, etc., get deleted from the iOS device. It cleans your iPhone as new with no personal information at all.

Does erasing iPhone remove iCloud?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards that you’ve added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center and other services.

How do I completely reset my iPhone 6?

Factory-reset your iPhone

  1. To reset your iPhone or iPad, go to Settings > General > Reset and then select Erase All Content and Settings.
  2. If you’ve got an iCloud backup set up, iOS will ask if you’d like to update it, so you don’t lose unsaved data.

How do I securely wipe my iPhone?

Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My , you might need to enter your Apple ID and password. If your device uses eSIM, choose the option to erase your device and the eSIM profile when asked.

Is iPhone factory reset secure?

All the data on an iOS device is encrypted using strong encryption by default. The keys that are used to encrypted and decrypt our data are stored on the devices. When you choose to “Erase All Content and Settings” the device “obliterates” the keys. So your data is basically still there but no-one can read it anymore.

Is factory reset safe iPhone?

If your device is encrypted before performing a factory reset, any leftover data on the device will appear as a jumbled mess to anyone who tries to recover it, and your personal information will remain secret and safe. iPhone users: Thankfully, every iPhone since the 3GS is encrypted by default.

How do you wipe an iPhone without the password?

To wipe iPhone data without passcode with iCloud:

  1. Go to iCloud.com in a web browser and sign in with your iCloud account.
  2. Click on Find My iPhone and then click on “All Devices”.
  3. Select your iPhone from the list.
  4. Then, click on “Erase iPhone” to erase all data on your iPhone.

How do I factory reset my iPhone with buttons?

Press and hold down the Side button until the screen goes black. Press and hold your Volume Down button as you continue to hold the Side button. After 5 seconds, release the Side button, but keep holding the Volume Down button. The message will come up saying that iTunes has detected an iPhone in recovery mode.

Scroll to Top